Better than Insteon?

I’ve been using Insteon devices, with a PLM (via USB) and I find it to be very unreliable.

My main complaints are:

1. the PLM seems to disconnect every couple days, and it the insteonPLM driver doesn’t recover from that
  2. the lights are not reliable (group scenes often don’t turn off ‘all’ the lights for instance).
  3. the devices themselves seem to be failure prone.
  4. slow speed. The devices seem to react slowly (sometimes).

I am very seriously considering replacing all my lights with new ones. Does anybody have any recommendation for me? I’m really looking for something that is as feature rich as Insteon, but more reliable and faster and has solid integration with openHAB.

Thoughts?

It might depend on how the house is wired, but I’ve been using Insteon PLM (USB) for 2 years without the problems you describe, expect maybe for the speed at times when controlling many devices at once. My house is a virtual Faraday cage so it’s been more effective for me than a purely wireless protocol.

It could be that my PLM is quite old… maybe it’s starting to fail.

And by old I mean… many years… I don’t know how many… maybe 5?

FWIW, I tried the hub… but that has not been very reliable either.

I have Insteon as well, and have for a long time. I have found several things that contribute to what you are describing:

• Stale bindings: You have things bound to each other and to devices that no longer exist
  • Lots of extra messages: I am troubleshooting this now, where OH continuously sends “ON” or “OFF” messages every 5 seconds, swamping the net
  • Old PLM - starting to fail

I would recommend replacing the PLM and factory-resetting all your switches, and re-binding them. I know this sounds like a real PITA, but it has significantly improved performance…