Binding Development Setup

I’m a little new to this and hoping someone might have some insight that might help me.

I set up the development environment for developing OpenHAB bindings but I’m having a few issues. I followed the configuration instructions as they were outlined, I installed Git, Maven, Java, and the eclipse IDE, verified the Maven and Java paths are configured correctly, and set up the IDE to get the OpenHAB repositories.

I set it up to gather the OH1 and OH2 bindings and the full OH application. When I let the setup complete and finish the startup utilities it attempts to build and then I get only two problems:

The thing is I had this all set up and running for a week or so and the next time I opened the IDE I start getting build errors. Is there something I’m missing about my setup or is it synchronizing to the latest commits every time I open the IDE? I’m trying to learn Binding development and it seems like every time I open the IDE it synchronizes differently. I don’t know if it’s because I’m on a virtual machine or if it’s just supposed to sync up to the latest commits but how do I go about developing a binding if every time I open the IDE I don’t know if there will be build errors?

I’m just hoping someone can give me some insight as to where I’m going wrong here.

Thanks!

In my experience, there’s nothing you can do about this.

I’ve done the setup several times. In a couple of those instances I had a working system for a week or two before it blew up with the thousands of errors. In the others the system never reached a compilable state.

I’ve been meaning to try with Netbeans, but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

I’m having the same issue.

I install as per @Kai video on youtube as well as the documents here…
http://docs.openhab.org/developers/development/ide.html
and once it completes installing I have the ability to start the openhab runtime and everything has zero errors.