Binding for managing items of remote Openhab2 instance

Hello everybody.

I’m relatively new to openHAB (first heart of it April this year) and I am currently developing, together with some other students, a binding for managing items from remote Openhab2 instances as a project for my university. We already accomplished the prove of concept and now I would like to collect some opinions from the community about our approach, before attempting to distribute our binding to openHAB or continuing the development and fine tuning.

What’s the idea and what did we try to accomplish:
We want to give the openHAB user an easy way to read, manipulate and virtualize items from a remote openHAB instance in his local openHAB instance via GUI.
How does the binding work currently?

1. Reading/sending data from/to remote openHAB instance
    a. The network data transfer of the item data is accomplished via the REST API of Openhab

2. Storing remote items data in local instance
    a. We use the openHAB mechanism for managing items via *.items files. The binding generates an *.items file (1 per binding instance) where it stores the item information of the remote items.
    b. State changes in remote items are written directly into the ItemRegistry of the local openHAB instance.
    c. The user must configure a time interval for checking the remote openHAB instance for new items or changed item states.

3. Virtualizing and manipulation of the remote items
    a. Our binding generates a basic *.sitemap file for the user where all items (or less, depends on user configuration) from the remote openHAB instance are represented.
    b. Alternatively, the user can create his own sitemaps to virtualize the remote items. He could easily create a single sitemap to display items from several remote openHAB instances.
    c. The user can set new states for the remote items via the GUI (only tested with Basic UI).

4. What has the user to configure?