Bindings for newly released LIFX Mini?

Hi folks, new to openHab, and new to LIFX bulbs.

I was wondering if anyone has looked at bindings for the newly released LIFX mini bulbs at all? I set up openHAB on the weekend, but the current LIFX addon couldn’t locate the Minis.

Being a total openHAB noob, i was wondering if anyone had looked at dev’ing the bindings for it, or if this was difficult to set up myself?

thanks

There is support for discovering the Mini lights in the 2.2.0-SNAPSHOT builds. It was added to the code with this pull request.

I think it should also be possible to use the Minis with the stable release by manually adding them via Paper UI (although I have not tested that since I don’t own Minis):

1. Open Paper UI
  2. Open Inbox
  3. Click the big (+) button
  4. Choose “LIFX Binding”
  5. Click add “Add Manually”
  6. Choose “LIFX Color Light”
  7. Enter the LIFX device ID
  8. Click the big (:heavy_check_mark:) button

Oh wow, that is awesome! thankyou. I’ll give that a go ad see how it works :smiley:

1 Like

Hmm so have tried that and no luck. The bulbs are all showing up as being offline. I wonder what exactly has changed between the lifx mini and the others to change the bindings. etc.

Oh well i will continue looking into the machinations of OpenHAB to figure out how to add them :slight_smile:

I used the Device ID printed on the Mini bulb and it worked for me.

1 Like

That’s good news!

The Minis should talk exactly the same protocol as the other lights. The only difference is that they return different Product IDs. Without some updated information openHAB does not know what the capabilities of the Minis are (color, white, infrared, multiple zones) . So in 2.1.0 it will not automatically add discovered Minis to the Inbox. Though you can still manually add them.

If you’re still having problems you could enable debug logging for the LIFX Binding to see what it is up to. That’s done via the Karaf Console.