Blocky Wait based on Item

Hi,

im not sure if, or how this can be achieved.
I would like to replace the remaining Wait condition in the below Blocky Rule to be based on an item (or the variable PumpRunTime).

since im quite new to blocky im stuck a bit and would appreciate any help

Long waits are a bad idea and should only be used rarely.

And the wait block does not support variables.

You should use a timer instead. That lets the rule exit and run the scheduled code in the background.

It looks like what you really need here is a looping timer. There’s a block library on the marketplace that implements a looping timer which can replace this whole while loop and let you use the state of an Item for the delay without tying up this rule for an indeterminate amount of time.

I think the use case is just about a variable timer to switch a pump. This is part of the standard blockly sets and looks like this:

I think there is more going on though because there’s a repeat while loop and a rate limit block in the code above in addition to sending ON, waiting five seconds, then OFF to an Item.

It’s basically a busy wait loop which sometimes does something and would better be implemented with a looping timer.

The 5 seconds can be replaced with the state of an Item, unlike the wait for block which cannot. This also has the advantage of not tying up the thread doing nothing, greatly increasing the chance of a multithreaded access exception.

It’s less awkward using straight JS Scripting though. I had to make certain shortcuts to make the library usable in blockly.

var ohrt = require('openhab_rules_tools');

var loopingTimer = cache.private.get('loopingTimer',  () => ohrt.LoopingTimer());
loopingTimer.loop(() => {
  // command the pump to ON if it's not already ON
  items.ESPHome_pws_Pump_1.sendCommandIfDifferent('ON');
  // If the moisture is less than the threshold repeat the loop in five seconds