Bluetooth binding for presence detection

Hi everyone,
I’m quite new to OH. I was able to configure things using the MQTT and Zwave bindings for temperature and humidity sensors.
But I failed to setup a simple presence detection using OH-Bluetooth binding (OH running on Raspberrypi3). I want to use my family members smartphones and not dedicated beacon devices.
For this purpose I installed “BLE Scanner” app on my smartphones.
OH detected the beacons sent by the smartphones and I was able to create bluetooth:beacon things for them.
Unfortunately those things are identified by the Bluetooth Mac address and not by the uuid (e.g. ‘d009dda6-3ba6-4e70-9226-0199d0058f19’). Due to the anti-sniffing feature of randomized Bluetooth-Mac addresses on smartphones, the configuration of the OH item is incorrect after a few minutes because it does not match the modified smartphone Mac anymore. This shouldn’t be a problem if one uses dedicated beacon devices like key finders, but I’d prefer to rely on the smartphone only.
Would it be feasible to add an additional configuration parameter UUID to OH’s Bluetooth binding which would enable the use of (pure, just with the Bluetooth beacon app installed) smartphones for presence detection?

I learned that there are various other possibilities out there for presence detection e.g. based on network binding looking for the WLAN connection of the particular smartphone or using the ESPresense solution but I’d like to strive to a pure OH-Smartphone solution without the need of additional gadgets or a running WIFI router.

Cheers Chris

The whole reason that phone rotate their MAC addresses is a privacy feature and it’s a good good thing. Without that you can be tracked everywhere you go in public. It used to be the case, at least on Android phones, that you could turn the MAC randomization off for BT but I don’t know if modern phones allow that.