Build and test from command line?

The IDE seems to have been kind of rough lately. While I think good IDE support is important, I’ve been an engineer for more than twenty years, and can always go back to the command line.

I’ve heard it said that you can develop and test OpenHAB from the command line.

How?

Would it be clearer and better behaved than the complexities and apparent instabilities of Eclipse lately?

There’s three sections on the web site; one for VSCode (does that also work with the full Visual Studio?), one for Eclipse, and one for IntelliJ.

How about docs for the command line?

How do I build?

How do I test?

What tools should I be reading up on to make sense of those processes?

You need Maven, that‘s all. Then go to the source root directory and run mvn clean install and there you go. Unit tests are run during the build.

Testing in a live environment depends on what you actually develop: addons, core, ui, …

There are many options for the maven build, just look at the documentation. Most important are probably -pl <dir> for building only a specific bundle and -fae which lets the build continue after an error and fail only at the end. Most important openHAB specific options are -DskipTests and -DskipChecks which skip the execution of tests and the static code analysis during the build.

While it’s true that you can “build and test” from the command line, debugging is another storey altogether. The command line will run the static tests, and compile your code, but there is really no substitute to the IDE when it comes to working through code, observing variables and watching the program flow.

Yes, it’s true that this can be done through printing logging statements, but that’s an extremely painful and inefficient approach as instrumentation needs to be done manually.

If all you want to do is make a small change, then the IDE can probably be avoided - if you want to add larger features, then there’s really no substitute to using a good IDE.