Can I run Chromium and display Paper UI on the same Raspberry that OpenHAB is running?

Hi Guys,

I’m new in OH world. This is my case:

I have old PC monitor and want to utilize it for displaying some information on Paper UI. Do I have to buy Android HDMI dongle to run the Chrome on my Monitor or is there a way to run Chromium or other Linux browser on openhabian, connect R Pi with monitor using HDMI cabel and simply display Paper IU on Chromium or other Linux browser?

Thanks

No openHABian does not include a Linux desktop because it is not powerful enough to run OH in parallel to a windowing environment.
You can access PaperUI from any device that has a browser such as your PC or smartphone.

I need no desktop but web browser only. I’m asking hypothetically. Assuming I have Chromiun web browser installed on openHABian, would it be possibile to set everything up in the way described in my first post?

In theory, yes. In practice, no. To set up chromium you need a windowing environment to run. The pi is not powerful enough to do all of that.

You will need the desktop environment for the browser to work. That’s not included with openhabian so you would have to add and configure all the packages yourself, and your Pi will likely bog down because it just doesn’t have the amount of memory you need for this task. Drop that idea, please. Use a PC, smartphone, tablet or whatever device as your client, that’s what HTTP was invented for.

If despite the warnings you want to give this a try (sometimes you just gotta burn your finger to believe the stove is hot), assuming you are running at least an RPi 3, install Raspbian Desktop. Then follow the instructions for openHABian manual installation.

But as has been said, there really isn’t enough RAM to run the full windowing environment, chromium, and openHAB at the same time on an RPi. And you cannot run a graphical program (i.e. Chromium) without the windowing environment.