Can someone set me straight on network bindings?

(Lee Mueller) #1

I feel that I need to preface this, I am new to openhab, home automation, linux and asking questions in forums. This being said, if I have posted this in the wrong place, I apologize.

I have jumped into a home automation project and have successfully turned a SONOFF into box fan controller which turns itself on and off. Kind of a big deal for me being brand new to all of this.

For my next project I want to do some presence detection to control a front door lock. I have installed the network binding and have been following the tutorial here:

When I try to detect my phone from the paperui, nothing is found, not a single ip address on the network.
I have looked around and found many different answers, such as: add the manually, keep trying with the appropriate wifi settings on my phone and even the network binding is broken do to a bug carry over form 2.3. (Oh I am running 2.4).

So my question is, what is up? Is the binding really broken? If someone would be willing to teach me what is going, point me to info I have not or even just throw a little guidance my way so that I can keep moving I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

(Kris K) #2

Is your phone pingable from a PC on your network? Is your OpenHab server on the same network as that PC and your Phone?

If its all on the same network, you should see items inside the PaperUI Inbox with Network Binding devices that have been found.

Have you also set the Primary Address in PaperUI under SYSTEM for your network?

More information is available here:

(Rich Koshak) #3

@muellercandd, the Network binding in general is working, but this one part of the binding is currently broken. The scan Kris describes would normally work but I believe it has been broken at least between OH version 2.4 release and 2.5 Milestone 1.

So when you say

I’m assuming you are doing a scan from the Inbox. And unfortunately that part is the broken part.