Cannot configure openHAB docker to use port 80

Hi,
I’ve been using openHAB for around 2 years now, and I am very happy with it.
Currently, I am running into a problem which I cannot get sorted out myself, but maybe one of you can give me a hint.

I am running openHAB as a docker container.
I am running that container connected to a macvlan docker network. This assigns a distinct mac address (and IP) to the container and in turn I can assign that container a distinct name through my router.
So far so good: I can access http://openhab.local.net:8080 from my browser.

Now the tricky bit: I want to get rid of the port number.
I can control the port numbers by the environment variables of the docker run command:

docker run \
 --name=openhabTESTBED \
 --net=mymacvlan \
 --ip=192.168.2.197 \
 -e OPENHAB_HTTP_PORT=80 \
 -e OPENHAB_HTTPS_PORT=8444 \
 -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro \
 -v /etc/timezone:/etc/timezone:ro \
 -d \
 openhab/openhab:2.4.0-amd64-debian

This works, but only as long as I don’t assign port number below 1024:
For the example above, I can open https://openhab.local.net:8444in my browser, but http://openhab.local.net just gives no connection.
I believe, this due to the fact, that these ports are considered “priviledged” and the executable trying to open such a port, needs special rights.

In order to give these rights, I tried two approaches. Both are based on building a new docker image from the official one, which allows me to run extra commands in the dockerfile.

1. using “setcap”
FROM openhab/openhab:2.4.0-amd64-debian

RUN apt-get update && \
    apt-get install -y libcap2-bin && \
    setcap CAP_NET_BIND_SERVICE=+ep /openhab/runtime/bin/karaf && \
    apt-get clean
  1. using “authbind”

RUN apt-get update && \
    apt-get install -y authbind && \
    touch /etc/authbind/byport/80 /etc/authbind/byport/443 && \
    chmod 777 /etc/authbind/byport/80 /etc/authbind/byport/443 && \
    apt-get clean