"Cannot open access to console, the root account is locked"

Hi,

Looking for some help.
Yesterday I rebooted my Pi4B. But since then it will not boot. After failing to ssh in to it, I plugged in a monitor to see what was happening. Everything seemed to boot normally until I get a message:

You are in emergency mode. After logging in, type “journalctl -xb” to view system logs, “systemctl reboot” to reboot, “systemctl default” or “exit” to boot into default mode.

Cannot open access to console, the root account is locked.
See sulogin(8) man page for more details.

Press Enter to continue.

When I press enter, it tries to do something, but just ends up showing the same message again.

I might suspect SD corruption, except that it seems to boot 99% of the system before this happens. And I can access both the ‘rootfs’ and ‘boot’ partitions of the SD card when I plug it in to my PC.

I am a novice user and this kind of probem is beyond my skillset. Is there anyone here who is willing to Whatsapp me and help me for an hour or two to try to fix this or rebuild as much as possible from what I have copied from the SD card?
I will gladly pay something for your time, or make a contribution to a charity of your choice.

Raspberry Pi4 Model B
PiJuice UPS
DeConz Raspbee II Zigbee hat

Openhabian OS
Latest version of OpenHab 3

Other software
Plex
Pihole

Did you get to the bottom of this one? I’m having exactly the same problem.

I think it was a problem with a fstab

1 Like

Thanks MartOs. I’m struggling with this one as a beginner… today I downloaded the latest openhabian image and installed on a newly formatted SD card. Even using a fresh installation, I get the same failure after the SD sync procedure.

fstab gives me something new to learn about and maybe will fix my problem.

Not sure if it’s a new SD.

I think I was trying to add a new harddrive, but messed up the fstab entry so when it rebooted it broke.
A new SD should make everything new from scratch?