Can't figure out how to send alarm/notification

As I’m a developer for another project, I’m used to be “on the other end” of threads like this, but there are simply too many “unknowns” for me to figure out where to focus my “investigation”. I’ll provide whatever information/configuration/logs that are needed, but I’m not even sure which information is relevant at this point, so I’ll keep it brief and then supply more information when I get some pointers.

I’m running openHAB 2.4 “release” on an old box running Windows XP 32-bit, it’s running some Java 8 version (don’t remember exactly which, but don’t think that’s relevant). I’m planning to move it to some Linux VM in the future, but for now the server build isn’t complete.

I’ve been running openHAB for 10 or so months now, but I’ve only had a few devices so I haven’t spent much time getting to know openHAB other than the little I did when making the initial configuration.

I’ve now “expanded” with some smoke detectors FGSD002, and in conjunction with these I wanted to get my dimmers FGD212 to trigger their “alarm mode” in case of fire.

I thought this was trivial, but it seems it’s beyond my abilities. I have no problems receiving the alarm from the smoke detectors, or to react to them, the problem is triggering the “alarm” on the dimmers. I found this post which seemed to explain exactly what I wanted to do. The problem is that I couldn’t find notification_send1 whatever I seemed to do. After a lot of digging, I finally figured out that FGD212 has two different configurations: fgd212_0_0.xml and fgd212_3_5.xml. Unluckily for me, the firmware of my dimmers is 3.5, and notification_send1 only exists in the pre-3.5 configuration.

I see two possible explanations for this:

• The database entry for >= 3.5 is lacking
  • Fibaro removed the ability to send alarms to these