Can't get tuya lights in openhab 3.2.0 to link to items

I’m running openHAB 3.2.0 on my freeBSD 13 server with mosquitto 2.0.13 both installed from the pkg manager(think it also installed some version of the java runtime 11 for it, can’t easily find the exact version) and have the tuya-mqtt 3.0.4 script from TheAgentK running.

I’m new to openHAB so I don’t know exactly what I’m doing, I just have a rough idea of what needs to be done from reading and I really don’t seem to have the easiest device for a first time.

From a fresh install, doing everything from the webui using chrome, I installed the MQTT Binding addon and Added an MQTT broker thing which is online so I assume it’s ok.
tuya-mqtt is configured with the broker settings(pretty much the defaults) and I added my 2 light devices in the device config from the tuya-cli wizard output and only added the ip and the type to RGBTWLight to it for each.

When I start the tuya-mqtt node.js script, openHAB detect 2 new things which are the lights I configured so I tell it to create the thing and a channel for color gets automatically added for both, but the thing status is set to unknown pretty much all the time, only seen it as online or offline once or twice while messing around.
The thing type for the lights is HomeAssistant MQTT Component so I looked up the manual for it and installed the JSONPath and Jinja Transformation addon it says is required for it.

Now from what I understand, I need to link an item to the channel to be able to control something but when I try to do add a link to item…, create a new item and press link, it tells me “There is no profile available for the selected item” and after looking up the learn more about profiles link, it seems I need transformation addons for that but the 2 that are required for the type those lights use are already installed so I’m at a loss for what I’m doing wrong here.