Can't Install

I’m a total beginner at this. I just downloaded OpenHAB and tried to install it (in Windows 8.1). When I try to run start.bat, it gives me errors like:
C:\Programs\OpenHAB2>start.bat
Launching the openHAB runtime…
‘-Dorg.osgi.service.http.port’ is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
‘-Dorg.osgi.service.http.port.ssl’ is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

Looking at the batch file, I don’t understand what the lines:
-Dorg.osgi.service.http.port=%HTTP_PORT%
-Dorg.osgi.service.http.port.ssl=%HTTPS_PORT%
are meant to do. That does not look like normal batch syntax to me.

What am I doing wrong here?

Thanks - Rowan

At which part of the Windows Installation Instructions do you experience issues?

It fails at step 3 of the section titled Installation. i.e I run start.bat, and it fails with the error messages that I quoted.

Thanks - Rowan

What Java did you install?

Those two lines are arguments to java.

My Java is:

C:\Users\RowanB>java -version

java version "1.8.0_171"

Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_171-b11)

Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 25.171-b11, mixed mode, sharing)

Is this OK?

Thanks - Rowan

That looks right. It looks to be a new enough Oracle Java. I don’t run on Windows so won’t be of much more help here. Most of the time the problem is forgetting to install Java or installing the wrong version. That doesn’t appear to be the case here.

Did you set the JAVA_HOME variable in Windows System Environmental Variables??

Yes, I did. JAVA_HOME is set to “C:\Program Files
(x86)\Zulu\Zulu10.2+3-jdk10.0.1-win_i686\bin”

I had to include the quotes due to Windows' ridiculous habit of

including spaces in directory names. How come they didn’t see the
interminable problems that this decision would lead to?

Thanks - Rowan

That’s not the same version of Java you have listed above…

you may want to point to the Oracle Version 8.