Clean OSX Install - Nest Binding Not Working

I’m a complete beginner to OpenHAB… would like to eventually get into more complete HA (lights, locks, switches, etc) but figured I’d get my feet wet with one of the few HA items I have: my Nest thermostat. For background, I’m running OSX Mavericks.

Downloaded the latest OpenHAB package and Addons from the OpenHAB website and copied the application folder to my Applications directory. Copied (only) the Nest binding to the addons directory. Signed up as a Nest developer and got all my keys and codes copied into the relevant section of the openhab.cfg (which is a straight copy from openhab_default.cfg).

Here’s my nest.items file:

String home_away "Home/Away [%s]" <present> { nest="=[structures(Home).away]" }
DateTime Nest_last_connection "Last Nest Connection [%1$tm/%1$td %1$tH:%1$tM]" {nest="<[last_connection]"}
String   NestHome_name "Name [%s]"                 {nest="<[structures(Home).name]"}
DateTime NestTStatUpstairs_last_connection "Last Connection [%1$tm/%1$td/%1$tY %1$tH:%1$tM:%1$tS]" <calendar> {nest="<[thermostats(Hallways).last_connection]"}

And here’s my nest.sitemap file:

sitemap nest label="Nest"
{
  Frame label="Home" {
        Switch item=home_away mappings=[home="Home",away="Away"]
        Text item=Nest_last_connection
        Text item=NestTStatUpstairs_last_connection
  }
}

I also copied the logging text from the Nest GitHub page into my logback file.

Started OpenHAB (“sudo sh start.sh” and the terminal showed no errors or anything to suggest something was wrong:

$ sudo sh start.sh 
Launching the openHAB runtime...
osgi> 2015-10-19 10:02:13.573 [INFO ] [.o.core.internal.CoreActivator] - openHAB runtime has been started (v1.7.1).
2015-10-19 10:02:14.601 [INFO ] [o.o.i.s.i.DiscoveryServiceImpl] - mDNS service has been started
2015-10-19 10:02:14.661 [INFO ] [o.o.i.s.i.DiscoveryServiceImpl] - Service Discovery initialization completed.