Collecting data from a buch of devices using UDP

Hi guys!
I’m a newbie in openHab. Nevertheless, I have already been able to implement some things successfully. I was wondering if anyone could help me out with the biggest problem. I searched unsuccessfully for a long time.

I’ve got a bunch of raspberry Pi’s that all have multiple sensors. e. g. one has 5 temperature sensors. So far I collect the data via simple scripts. I’m sending the data from all PI’s in the following format via a UDP port to the server:
[device_id: Sensor_id: Sensor_value]

(command: echo “[Datablock]” > /dev/udp/[server ip]/[some port]

Now I was going to try to integrate the sensors into openhab in the same way. There is TCP/UDP binding. But I don’t think this will work with that binding!? The data would have to be distributed to the different things according the device_ID. Is that possible in openhab? All the solutions I have found have a very large data overhad. I want to conserve network resources and processor resources on the server.

Cheers,
Gabriel

I’ve solved this by moving a little higher in the networking stack and use MQTT. You can see my script here and it works fantastically well. Since I’m using MQTT I even can tell when one of my Pis go down with the LWT messages.

I’ve seen a lot of people successfully use the UDB binding and at least as many fail. I can’t say I recommend it except as a last resort. Since you have control over the Pis and are using scripts already to publish I think your time would be better served learning and deploying MQTT than fighting with the TCP/UDP binding.

Having said that…

It should work.