Color Temperature Control Values

I am quite new to openHAB, and I often found it difficult to get documentation about something. So I will try to ask.

From what I found out, the color temperature in Philips Hue is not set in K but in some kind of reciproke value called Mired. In openHAB, on the other side, the color temperature is of Dimmer type, which goes from 0 to 100 percent. So I looked around, but I did not find documentation, which percentage is which color temperature. Can anyone help?

The color temperature range of the Philips lamps is from 2200K to 6500K, which is from 455 to 154 Mired.

Welcome!

Our developers spend time writing official documentation to address most questions, including this one.

Channel Type ID: color_temperature
Type: Dimmer
Description: This channel supports adjusting the color temperature from cold (0%) to warm (100%).
Thing Types Supported: 0210, 0220

From Philips Hue - Bindings | openHAB

I suppose that the colortemperature has a linear function. Based on this ist is a simple calculation 6500K equals 154 mired equals 0% and 2200k equals 455 mired equals 100%. To develop a formula to calculate from one value to another should be simple.

But i don’t think that is your real problem?

@Bruce_Osborne: I had read that documentation carefully before I posted. And addtionally I had read all the topics related to binding and hue before I posted. Unfortunately I did not find the answer to my question there.

@Dibbler42: From what I found out by now it is not linear. The calculation is:

dimmervalue = ( mired - gu ) / ( go - gu) * 100

mired = 1000000 / colortemperature

If the range of the dimmer value in openHAB is the same as the range of the Philips hue lamp, then the variables gu and go would be:
go = 153.846154
gu = 454.545455

When I tested that calculation it worked quite well. But somewhere I read, that gu could be 500 (which is 2000K). That let me in doubt.