Coming from ETS 3 - (rookie)

Hi guys!

I installed my fully KNX system in my house now 10 years ago. I have always used ETS3 to program it but find it rather hard to use. Is there anyway software wise to take this to OpenHab? Can I export from ETS to openhap to test it out? Or is there any other solutions you would prefer? This is my first time at this site btw.

My house consit of heating, ligthing (indoor and outdoor) and an old LCD panel called the MT701 :slight_smile:

Hi,

Although it may seem a bummer to you, openHAB does not replace ETS.
What you should do first is try to understand the power of openHAB starting with http://docs.openhab.org/introduction.html
Then you can try integrating your existing KNX installation with other devices, such as smart TV’s, audio devices, etc. Trust me, it’s a lot of fun out there.

BR,
George

1 Like

Thanks will definitively read that. Is there anything open source that DOES replace ETS? I really dont wanna continue to pay for the updates :slight_smile:

Unfortunately there is nothing I know that can fully replace ETS!
I have developed some apps for parts of the ETS functionalities, but only for specific tasks.
ETS is still the only fully fledged tool right now!

BR,
George

Ok so I am well on my way here. I figured if I want to get back into this i need to upgrade my USB KNX module for programming to a more up to date IP module so I can do programming via my internal home network. Anybody has a thought on what module to use for this, availability in Norway would be very nice :slight_smile:

Hi,

You can still use your USB gateway with KNX. There are two ways to do this:

1. Direct connection of openHAB to the serial interface through the binding configuration
  2. Setting up a KNX/IP router or tunnel connection using knxd, or eibd. OpenHAB should connect without problems.