Control Denkovi relay board with Siri, through openHAB2

Hi everyone,

I’m new in openhab community and I’d like an advice from you. I’m building a new house and I’m looking for a solution to create a good and safe automation method.

I want to make Siri control openHAB2 installed on a raspberry pi 3, since Apple has opened homekit protocol (http://www.cnx-software.com/2017/06/09/apple-opens-homekit-accessory-protocol-specification-to-non-commercial-projects/), and I also want to make my openHAB2 control via snmp commands, my realy board (https://denkovi.com/smartden-lan-ethernet-16-relay-module-din-rail-box).

As I’m not a programmer, I’d like to know if anyone has already this solution so I could test and implement on my new home.

PS.: All the switches from the house are going to be control switches, which will send a signal to the GPIO pins of my rpi and also control the relays. So the relays will be controlled either by Siri -> openHAB on Raspberry Pi -> SNMP command -> Ethernet Relay, or Manual Switch -> GPIO pin -> openHAB on Raspberry Pi -> SNMP command -> Ethernet Relay.

Could anyone help me with this?

I’m not sure I can help with much with the Siri integration but gotta ask, why SNMP?

SNMP is a network management protocol. It is not really intended to be a command protocol like you propose using it. I’m sure it can be made to do what you want, but a more appropriate protocol would be MQTT, or use the Wireless GPIO API built into the Raspbian or any number of other messaging protocols.

As for how to do this using MQTT, this is how I control my garage door openers using sensorReporter.

To command
openHAB -> Mosquitto MQTT Broker -> sensorReporter -> GPIO pin

Status
GPIO pin -> sensorReporter -> Mosquitto MQTT Broker -> openHAB