Controlloing openHAB devices from external program?

Hello -

I am new to the opehHAB community, but have been active in home automation for more than a decade. I’m currently moving from old X10 stuff controlled with my Linux box using heyu and going to Insteon.

Honestly I didn’t know until now that there was a way to control Insteon devices (directly) via Linux until I discovered openHAB, so I’m pretty excited!

While transitioning my hardware, I’d like to be able to control my Insteon devices (directly not via their X10 compatibility) from some of my old scripts. So my question is: is it possible to interact with openHAB devices from the Linux command line? Most of my scripts are in PERL, but I can always use external commands from PERL if there is no native lib to use.

Tom

Tom,

I have a similar environment that was primarily X10 using iHouseHomeAutomation (freeware no longer supported). I still use it to interact with the 12 or so x10 modules I still have in the house, however, I use openHAB as my main controller. I currently drive all my x10 modules thru command line using the exec binding in openHAB. Prior to fully controlling from openHAB, I would use MQTT publish commands, also command line based, from iHouse to update the state in openHAB. This was the simplest and lowest programming knowledge required, which works for me. Also, since I’m using MQTT with my Arduino sensors, it made sense to combine the use vs. bringing on another controller or gateway.

Y

Thanks for the info. I also used the exec binding to control my X10 stuff from openHAB. Didn’t think of using mqtt for feedback.

I guess what I’m looking for is going the other way. I’m looking to control an openHAB device from outside of openHAB.

Tom