Creating a Binding Skeleton for OpenHAB2

Hello,

I’m interested in OpenHAB2 binding development. What I’d like to do is see if I can take an OpenHAB1 binding (InsteonPLM) and “convert” it to a native OpenHAB2 binding. (I’m not a developer, nor am I familiar with Java.)

To setup my IDE, I followed the instructions here: https://www.openhab.org/docs/developer/development/ide.html

I then went to: https://www.openhab.org/docs/developer/development/bindings.html

However, I’m stuck. When I try to create the skeleton, my output looks like this:

Does anyone have have any ideas what’s going on and how to solve it? The instructions don’t say anything about manually creating a directory, so I’m wondering if I’m missing a step.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/codehaus/plexus/logging/LoggerManager
	at java.lang.Class.getDeclaredMethods0(Native Method)
	at java.lang.Class.privateGetDeclaredMethods(Class.java:2701)
	at java.lang.Class.privateGetMethodRecursive(Class.java:3048)
	at java.lang.Class.getMethod0(Class.java:3018)
	at java.lang.Class.getMethod(Class.java:1784)
	at org.codehaus.plexus.classworlds.launcher.Launcher.getEnhancedMainMethod(Launcher.java:172)
	at org.codehaus.plexus.classworlds.launcher.Launcher.launchEnhanced(Launcher.java:268)
	at org.codehaus.plexus.classworlds.launcher.Launcher.launch(Launcher.java:229)
	at org.codehaus.plexus.classworlds.launcher.Launcher.mainWithExitCode(Launcher.java:415)
	at org.codehaus.plexus.classworlds.launcher.Launcher.main(Launcher.java:356)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.codehaus.plexus.logging.LoggerManager
	at org.codehaus.plexus.classworlds.strategy.SelfFirstStrategy.loadClass(SelfFirstStrategy.java:50)
	at org.codehaus.plexus.classworlds.realm.ClassRealm.unsynchronizedLoadClass(ClassRealm.java:271)
	at org.codehaus.plexus.classworlds.realm.ClassRealm.loadClass(ClassRealm.java:247)
	at org.codehaus.plexus.classworlds.realm.ClassRealm.loadClass(ClassRealm.java:239)