Creating customized dashboard and connect items via API?

I would like to have a customized dashboard. But in order to have that and “escape” the OH look, inside OH it’s proving not that easy.

So, I was thinking: since I’m a programmer, what if I just developed a webpage in my server, working in PHP to connect to my MySQL persist DB and then connect to OH API to get and post data, being able to also work with JS to animate things and relying on the old CSS to make things pretty?

Is this a “too much effort for the result” thing I’m thinking? Can we also have design autonomy with OH?

One other thing I’ve thought about was creating customized widgets for OH for those cases where I would prefer to have something nicer.

What your take on this?

It would be for me, but your mileage may vary. My feeling is that most other’s feel the same way or we would already see such 3rd party UIs around. Ultimately, however, only you can really answer whether is is worth your time.

There is really quite a bit that you can already do through the Main UI. Yes, the widget/page yaml syntax is very different from most other scripting languages you might use for this, and many find it less than ideal, but it does offer a substantial amount of flexibility. Pretty much the only thing you can’t do with it* is direct JS access to the underlying web app, but you wouldn’t get that with your proposal either.

(*- or can’t do with it easily, depending on the situation)

I’m curious to know, however, what you’ve wanted to do that you have been unable to accomplish.

This would be my suggestion. 1) that winds up being additive effort, not parallel effort and 2) more people will be able to share the fruits of your labors. If you are contributing new widget components to the UI codebase, there aren’t too many limits to what effects or functions you can get.

1 Like