Cron jobs, mqtt and network outage

Hi everybody,

I’m still pretty new to openhab, but so far thanks to a lot of tutorials and examples I’ve been able to get everything working like I wanted and the setup has been running fine for over two months now. But yesterday I stumbled upon an issue where it behaved unexpectedly.

The setup:

• raspberry pi running openhab and the mqtt server
  • multiple esp8266 reporting temperatures
  • esp8266 controlling a 4x relay (sonoff 4ch)

Everything is in the same wifi (Fritz.box). The ESPs get triggered and read via mqtt

What behaved unexpected is a simple cron timer:

• switch a certain port of the relay to on in the morning and to off in the evening

The situation that I found yesterday evening after the light didn’t go out:
raspberry has disappeared from the WLAN
ESPs reading temperatures disappeared from the WLAN
ESP with the relay is still connected or reconnected

Nothing found in the fritz.box … not sure what happened? Anyway, that’s not the point of the post. So I got some connection problems. What did I do? Reboot the raspberry, power cycle the ESPs.

Everything connected back to the WLAN.

What I expected now:
The light should be switched off after the raspberry reboot.

But this didn’t happen. However, in openhab, the switch object was set to “off”

So I read about the cron job -> it’s apparently a one time thing. It gets triggered one time, it’s not like the cron job is checking up on the object later, if it’s still off.

My question here: Is there any simple way to set something to “off” or “on” during a defined period of time, so that the script checks periodically if it is really switched off? I thought about doing an every 5 minute cron job and check for whether it’s night or day in the executing part of the script. but that would mean sending a trigger every 5 minutes. There sure is a more elegant way?