DateTime from xslt

Hello, I’m trying to get a date and time from an XML. In the XML it’s formatted as

<start_time>10.4.2017 21:00:00</start_time>

I’ve (keep in mind I’m a total amateur) come up with the following xsl:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<xsl:stylesheet 
        xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform" version="1.0">

<xsl:output indent="yes" encoding="UTF-8" method="text" omit-xml-declaration="yes" />

<xsl:template match="rsp/recordings">
            <xsl:variable name="in" select="recording[2]/start_time"/>
            <xsl:variable name="datepart" select="substring-before($in, ' ')"/>
            <xsl:variable name="timepart" select="substring-after($in, ' ')"/>
            <xsl:variable name="year" select="substring-after(substring-after($datepart, '.'), '.')"/>
            <xsl:variable name="month" select="format-number(substring-before(substring-after($datepart, '.'), '.'), '00')"/>
            <xsl:variable name="day" select="format-number(substring-before($datepart, '.'), '00')"/>
            <xsl:value-of select="concat($year,'-',$month,'-',$day,'T',$timepart)"/>

</xsl:template>
</xsl:stylesheet>

which gives me

2017-04-10T21:00:00

I felt kinda proud of myselft for accomplishing that :slight_smile: Even though I’m sure there’s a much easier way.
Now if my item is a string, that gets shown, so I know it’s linked to the item. If however I change it to a DateTime, it goes NULL. How should the string be formatted to be recognized as a proper date and time?

Some more info; if I have it as a string and look at the rest API items, i see this as the value: “\r\n2017-04-10T21:00:00\r\n”. Could the newline-characters be the cause of it not identifying as a DateTime? And if so, how in the world do I get rid of them?