DateTimeItem could not be cast to DateTimeType

Hey there,

I receive a mqtt topic and parse / transform it via jsonpathmap.
As result I get a timestamp-value:

2022-11-06T18:09:53+01:00

The item looks like this:

I want to calculate the diff-time from this timestamp with the following part of a script:

var lastChangeMilli = (Stromzahler_ZahlerstandTimestamp as DateTimeType).zonedDateTime.toInstant.toEpochMilli

//  var elapsedTime = now.millis - lastChangeMilli

logInfo("kWhPower", "now.millis: " + now.millis + " lastChangeMilli: " + lastChangeMilli)

But this throws the following error:

Cannot cast from DateTimeItem to DateTimeType

and

The method or field millis is undefined for the type ZonedDateTime;

Could you give me a hint, what I am doing wrong? I am just new to the scripting stuff… ;-(

You need to cast the state of the item, not the item itself.

Hi @J-N-K

Perhaps I am just to new to this stuff - could you please explain a bit further what you mean?
if I understand you right, xxx.state is the item and not the state of the item?

EDIT: ahhh, got you. Will try it later this evening. Thank you!

No, exactly the other way round. You use Stromzahler_ZahlerstandTimestamp which is the item (the class is DateTimeItem) and try to cast it to DateTimeType. This is not possible. Stromzahler_ZahlerstandTimestamp.state is the state of the item and can be cast to DateTimeType.

Hey @J-N-K

Thank you - problem 1 is solved :+1:

Could you give me a hint for problem 2, too?

Did you try now.toInstant.toEpochMilli like you do for the other one. You could also try using the ZonedDateTime directly (instead of .toInstant.toEpochMilli) and use elapsedTime = Duration.MILLIS.between(now, lastChanged) (not sure if this works).

… this throws a new error :wink: …

rrd4j does not allow querys without a begin date, unless order is descending and a single value is requested

… and this throws three errors ;-(

I tried to use your suggestion as following: