Debugging rules

I’m very new to openhab2 and I have troubles writing my rules. I edit the rule file manually, test run and check in the events.log and openhab.log what’s happening. However it seems as if a rule has a syntax error, it just isn’t executed at all. No error in the logs. So how do I debug my rules in a better way then trial and error?

Use Designer. It checks the syntax as you type.

There are a few things it will highlight as errors that are not, mainly calls to Actions, using the Channel rule triggers, and referencing Items defined through PaperUI or Habmin. But beyond that it is invaluable to discover syntax errors. Even if you don’t edit your rules in Designer, you should load them into Designer when you encounter errors as a first debugging step.

Ok, will test the designer, thanks for the help!

By desiginer, do you mean the tool in habmin then? It seems super buggy.
Can sometimes not save, can definitely not delete any rules. I really don’t
know what to do. I’m so close on giving up on openhab AGAIN, don’t want to,
but I think everything is very unstable and not ready to use. All I want to
do is to write my rules and get the syntax verified, is that too much to
ask? :’(

No.

http://docs.openhab.org/installation/designer.html

No. That is what Designer is for.

Aha, my mistake! Thanks! :slight_smile:

First of all, thanks for you previous help! The designer works pretty good, but I have a problem I can’t get to the bottom with. My rules seem to work and the designer doesn’t complain at all over my syntax. But when I save the rules file, I get the following in the log:

18:36:26.718 [INFO ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Refreshing model 'default.rules'
18:36:26.719 [WARN ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Configuration model 'default.rules' is either empty or cannot be parsed correctly!
18:36:26.725 [INFO ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Loading model 'default.rules'