Decoding SenML

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: virtual machine on Windows 10
    • Java Runtime Environment: Zulu 8.46
    • openHAB version: openHABian 2.5.5

Hello there,

Lately I’m playing with some esp32 LoRaWAN boards for a little project where we keep track on how far a sprinkler reel is for on a farm. I have the LoRa part working.

I use the KPN things network to get the LoRa data to my MQTT server. This data exist out of SenML JSON format. Because of my experience with openHAB I thought it would be a good idea to use openHAB and openHABcloud to keep track of my data and send me massages if the reel is X% in.

SenML specification:

I made a little test in python to decode my data with the help of a library. This work partly bud it would be a lot of work to make an android app of some kind with python and it wouldn’t be very expendable. (I have a lot of other ideas involving LoRaWAN)

My coding skills in general are intermediate.
I’m a beginner in java.

My question:
I couldn’t find much about SenML and java and even less about openHAB and SenML. Is there here someone who have a little experience with SenML and openHAB who can help me with creating a decoder?

A MQTT payload look something like this:

Location data:

[{“bn”:“urn:dev:DEVEUI:0012AC00001B0345:”,“bt”:1.00000000E9},{“n”:“locOrigin”,“vs”:“KPNLORA”},{“n”:“latitude”,“u”:“lat”,“v”:51.00000},{“n”:“longitude”,“u”:“lon”,“v”:6.000000},{“n”:“radius”,“u”:“m”,“v”:529.000000},{“n”:“locAccuracy”,“u”:“%”,“v”:9999.0},{“n”:“locPrecision”,“u”:“%”,“v”:9999.0},{“n”:“locTime”,“vs”:“1591962942208”}]

And my own data:

[{“bn”:“urn:dev:DEVEUI:0012AC00001B0345:”,“bt”:1.59196398E9},{“n”:“payload”,“vs”:“0404070164000000”},{“n”:“port”,“v”:1.0}]

Thank you in advance.

Greetings,
Sander