Decoupling notification service

Hi all,
I’m quite new to rules in OpenHAB. I implemented my first rules last weekend and this weekend I added some more, including sending of some notifications. Since my wife and I both use Telegram on our phones, I set up a bot and use the Telegram service for that.

However, I can imagine that in a few months I will have a bunch of rules sending notifications, so different rules files will be filled with sendTelegram actions. And who knows, maybe next year we won’t be using Telegram anymore so I’d want to switch to another notification service. I’d like to avoid having to replace all sendTelegram calls in all files with something else.

What is the best way to decouple the notification service in my rules? I was thinking about defining a string item, posting updates to it whenever I need to send a notification, and creating a single rule that calls the notification service when the item state has changed.
Is this the way to go? Anyone doing it like this already? Could it be useful to create multiple notification items for various purposes?

Thanks for thinking with me!

Maybe look at pushing alerts through mqttwarn. https://github.com/jpmens/mqttwarn For a single interface in (mqtt) if can then push out to a number of notifications services. And while it may not have telegram, you could get it added (or add it yourself).

Then if needs change you could switch all to pushover or something else, without having to change your rules.

I have a bunch of items with varying levels that are picked up by mqtt warn. So in a rule I can just same sendcommand(notify_info,“message”) to send to mqttwarn.

Another approach would be to define a string item for the message.
Whenever the item gets updated, a rule will trigger and do the sendmessage.
You will only need to update this rule when changing from one service to another.

You are right on the money IMO - I have the following;