Demo house: yahoo weather error

I am new to OH, and was looking at demo house to make sense of it all.
The OH console generates and error:
2016-06-02 14:31:03.027 [WARN ] [.httpclient.HttpMethodDirector] - Unable to respond to any of these challenges: {oauth=OAuth oauth_problem=“OST_OAUTH_PARAMETER_ABSENT_ERROR”, realm=“yahooapis.com”}

… and I have no clue, as to why or how can I fix this.

Any hints appreciated. Thanks.

1 Like

Hi Max,

Yahoo recently changed their weather service API, so that the current demo house configuration will not work anymore.

You have to modify the demo settings according to this post (maybe not quite easy for a “newbie”):

Or you have to choose another weather provider (but this also has to be combined with some config changes).

Third solution: Delete all Yahoo entries from the demo files. Or simply ignore the error, since it’s just a Demo. :wink:

Regards,
Stefan

1 Like

Thanks for your reply :slight_smile:

Well, not wanting to sound arrogant: I would have expected that a demo works flawless, in order to support the understanding of new users. I have done some programming in the past, but this openHAB thing seems simply ‘too hard’.

This will be another topic, but it is still unclear, in which order and how to write the different configs – as I said: another topic… after I had a play with this for a few more hours. :slight_smile:

I will have a go at your first suggestion.
Option two – maybe…

Option three: yes, just a demo, but if it had worked I’d had a chance to “get it”.

Thanks, Max

Again thanks…
Option two worked for me, and also answered another question: do I need to restart openHAB when I change the config? NO… it does it! :slight_smile: Nice.

https://query.yahooapis.com/v1/public/yql?q=select+*+from+weather.forecast+where+woeid%%3D3534+and+u%%3D%'C%':60000:XSLT(yahoo_weather_temperature.xsl)

The demo absolutely needs to be updated and an issue should be created in github.