Designer things vs PaperUI things?

Hi.
Complete newbie here, trying to get a grip around the complicated concepts of OH2. The most confusing is that most things can be done in so many ways. Anyway, first thing I’ve been experimenting with is the Sonos binding. And first question is: What is the difference between things created in the Designer vs things created in PaperUI? Right now I’ve created a sonos.things file in /etc/openhab2/things and edited it with the Designer. This thing shows up just fine in the PaperUI, but the name is wrong there (it’s just called “PLAY 1”) and I can’t seem to rename it. I tried creating another thing using the inbox function in PaperUI and this thing got the name I gave it. But where is this PaperUI created thing saved? It doesn’t turn up in /etc/openhab2/things. So which is the recommended way of creating things?

Also I really don’t see the point with the Designer at all. I thought it’d do things more magically, but if I understand things correctly it’s just a text editor with some special hightlighting? Why not just edit the files in any other text editor?

edit: I think I’ve got about the same question regarding sitemaps vs what I do in habpanel. Is it doing the same thing? So using Designer to make sitemaps isn’t necessary when using habpanel?

Hi,

Paper UI is modern and user friendly way to add things and items to your openhab installation. Every thing that is generated in Paper UI gets stored inside JsonDB.
I would call the designer a poweruser tool. The advantage is, if you kill your complete openhab installation, you can recover all your items, things, sitemaps by just placing them inside your openhab config folder. This was especially interessting while there was MapDB as a database backend for PaperUI.

So the designer wont do any magic to your openhab installation. It will force you to do everything manually. :slight_smile:

Regarding Sitemaps and Habpanel