DHCP / IP vs Physical Addr

Hi there,

I am new to OpenHAB, but work with java dev. daily.

“Please note: if your network devices use a DHCP server to obtain ther IP addresses automatically, please make sure to define a DHCP reservation for a device which you want to use in openHAB. Otherwise it’s IP address may change in the future and your thing definiton won’t work any more. Information about how to define a DHCP reservation can be normally be found in the manual of your network router.”

Why not simply lookup the phys addr. and use that to recognize the device in place of the IP? I like the way DHCP works :slight_smile:

That is find the ip:

ping 192.168.1.1 (or whatever)

And then find the MAC addr via the ARP table.

All done in java code of cause.

https://www.mkyong.com/java/how-to-get-mac-address-in-java/

mvh

Nikolaj Hansen

How would the software find the IP address for the external network device (the 192.168.1.1) if it is dynamically assigned? The code you referenced finds the MAC for the local default NIC.

Yes, that is a working strategy to lookup a network devices. I’m using this here to find my Amazon Echo which cannot be pinged and does not have any open ports. However, as steve1 already mentioned, your Java code just gets the MAC address of your local network interface. You have to lookup the MAC address in the ARP cache of your OS (as you correctly wrote in your post).

Yes, you can find the MAC address of a network device using platform-dependent techniques. Since the quote from the documentation was related to the OH2 network device discovery I thought the question was “why does openHAB not use this technique?”. AFAIK, there’s no Java platform-independent way to do a reverse/inverse ARP query. @Temar, what technique are you using to query the ARP cache? Do you do anything to ensure the Echo’s MAC is actually in the cache?

Yes I do. My DNS server runs on that machine as well, so the Amazon Echo actually has to talk to it :slight_smile: