Dim a LED with exec binding doesn't work

Hey there,
I’m trying to dim a simple LED using openHab. However, I’m not getting anywhere. So my idea is to use “switch” with different mappings to control the brightness of the LED (Off, low, middle, high) with the exec binding.

If I use the command “sudo python slider.py 18 HELL” everything works fine but with the buttons on openHAB nothing happens…

I’m quite new to programming and openHAB. Hope anyone could help me with my problem.

Best wishes Stephan

Here is my Code:

My Item:

String led1 'Dimmer 1' <light> {channel='exec:command:led1-control:input', autoupdate='true'} 

My thing:

Thing exec:command:led1-control [command="/etc/openhab2/scripts/slider.py 18 %2$s", interval=0, autorun=true]

My script:

import RPi.GPIO as GPIO

import sys

import time 

GPIO.setwarnings(False)

GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)

if len(sys.argv) > 2:

RELAIS_GPIO = int(sys.argv[1])# + int(sys.argv[2])

GPIO.setup(RELAIS_GPIO, GPIO.OUT)

p=GPIO.PWM(RELAIS_GPIO, 2000)
    p.start(0)
    if sys.argv[2] == 'AUS':
        p.ChangeDutyCycle(0)
        time.sleep(10)
    elif sys.argv[2] =='DUNKEL':
        p.ChangeDutyCycle(25)
        time.sleep(10)
    elif sys.argv[2] =='MITTEL':
        p.ChangeDutyCycle(50)
        time.sleep(10)
    elif sys.argv[2] =='HELL':
        p.ChangeDutyCycle(75)
        time.sleep(10)

my sitemap:

sitemap weatherstation label="Smart Garden"
       Frame label="Licht" {
           Switch item=led1 mappings=["AUS"="AUS", "DUNKEL"="DUNKEL", "MITTEL"="MITTEL", "HELL"="HELL"]
        }

OpenHAB Basic UI:
Bildschirmfoto 2020-04-30 um 12.05.41

There are lots of posts about exec binding, and stuff to investigate. Often it comes down to permissions.

A diagnostic aid - see what the response is updated to, if anything

String led1exec 'Exec response' {channel='exec:command:led1-control:output'}

There is no response to the String led1exec line at all. I also added the line

/etc/openhab2/scripts/slider.py 18 %2$s