Dynamic Cron Strings in Rules?

I’m relatively new to this, and want to know if there is a way to trigger rules with a cron script at differing times each day depending on other variables. For instance, if it’s hot out, I want my pool pump to start at 10 am, but if it’s cold, it doesn’t need to start until noon. On the rules examples page, there’s an example of a rule triggering at sunset using timers, but the coding for that is fairly complicated and it seems like it would take a lot of CPU cycles for counting. What I’d like to do is something like:

rule "Start Pool Pump"
    when
        Time cron "0 0 " + Pool_Start_Time.state + " 1/1 * ? *"
    then
        blah blah blah
end

Is this, or something like it, possible? I suppose I could have the rule run once every hour and use an if statement to turn the pool on if a condition is met, but something like the above would still be more streamlined, and I may want triggers more precise than on the hour.

Thanks!

There is not. To schedule things to happen based on an Item’s state you need to use Timers.

Rule triggers are based on events, not states. You can’t use an AND in a rule trigger either for the same reason.

Timers do not consume CPU counting. They go to sleep until the scheduled time and consume no resources while sleeping. Beyond that, almost never will CPU be a concern on even on board computers like the Raspberry Pi. Do not go out of your way to optimize for CPU.

There are a number of approaches you could take to do this.

• Set up two rules one for ten and one for noon. If the ten rule runs the pump set a flag. When the noon rule runs check the flag and it if isn’t set run the pump
  • Create one rule that runs at ten. If the temp is too low set a timer to go off at noon and run the pump. Otherwise run the pump now
  • Generate some sort of event to run the pump rather than using cron.

There are many more.