Feedback from a new openHAB(ian) user

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: RapsPI 3B+
    • Java Runtime Environment: openHABian embedded
    • openHAB version: 2.2.0
  • Issue of the topic: This is not for the non-technical

Hi openHAB community,

I felt like sharing my experience with openHAB(ian) here, as I think I’m a pretty average not-too-technical enthusiast.

Let me start by saying that I love openHAB. It is smartly designed, clearly extremely versatile and open, and I’d love to keep using it.

As background: I equipped my entire house with Fibaro, from the Zwave modules controlling lights, curtains, doors, roller shutters, garage doors etc to the Fibaro HomeCenter 2. So I have some experience already, but I started to give up on Fibaro as the central control unit due to instability issues and the closed system compromises that come with a Zwave-centric solution.

So let’s give openHAB a try… I’m tech savvy in that I understand how technology works, but I’m not a coder and I’m not familiar with Linux. I also work and have many hobbies outside of tech, so I don’t have limitless amounts of time to sink into this project. Does that make me an average noob? Probably…

I decided to go with openHABian since it was ‘marketed’ as a solution for people who don’t need to know Linux. GOOD!

My conclusion after a week: not true.

Let’s start: flashing the MicroSD was easy, RasPi booted nicely and I tried to access it using the IP allocated by my router. No luck. Turns out I needed to add :8080. OK, good to know, but already lost quite some time just on that.

Then I wanted to add the Zwave stick. Some googling and I find out I need to create serial ports in Linux. HUH? So you do need to touch Linux after all. Download Putty, get to know it, log in, follow the step by step guides found somewhere online… and hope for the best. Another few hours gone.

Now the Zwave stick just needs the port mapping set. But which port? I see four! Trial and error… Until it works.