FLF-ZWAVE5-ECO .. adding and using

Starting a new thread on this to see if I can get advice on using this particular sensor. It’s a Flood/Freeze sensor.

I was able to add the device to the zwave network doing the ‘Scan’ thing on the binding. To note, this is my only zwave device and I am new to the process. For a zwave controller I have a Silicon Labs 700 UZB-7 USB stick. (SLUSB001A EFR32ZG14 UZB-7 Z-Wave 700 Stick Bridge Module - Silicon Labs)

The UZB-7 exposes the well-documented and proven Z-Wave Serial API via USB

The device came up as Unknown. I set a name for it. Its id is zwave:device:8002002e1c:node2

Now I am stuck as to what to do next. There are no ‘channels’ which are required so it can be added to the model in order to monitor something.

I’ve seen on other threads that others have this device working in their systems. I’m just not sure how.

Any hints on getting this thing to work/play nice?

This entry really is this device: ZWave Thing | openHAB …physically they appear identical too.

From that page:

Even if the device appears to be in the database, some manufacturers use multiple sets of references for different regions or versions, and your device references may not be in the database. In either case, the database must be updated and you should raise an issue to get this addressed.

The device is most likely fine. To the best of my knowledge openHAB doesn’t support the 700 series controllers yet.

I think you need a different controller.

Well the 700 Zwave/IP I believe is not supported, but this is serial and the device IS visible to the network and openHab. The device IS seen in OpenHab… just no channels.

A quick search of the forums for “Zwave 700” will show you numerous posts that the 700 series controllers are not supported. Some of these posts are from Dec '21 so I think it would have been kind of big news if we had added support in the last month.