For a fresh OH3 install: MainUI or HABPanel for Tablet?

Hi all,

I am rather new to OH and started with OH3 already.
Now I want to build a wall mounted tablet interface and wonder if I still should use HABPanel or go with MainUI?

I see the benefit of a larger selection of already existing widgets with HABPanel, but wonder how future proof it is.

what’s your opinion on this?

thanks

Either will work.

Personally I would go with MainUI but I can customise widgets to suit. It really depends on how much effort you want to put in now and into the future. I see maybe at some stage you will want to use MainUI so I would suggest putting the effort in there. Ask as many questions as you like.

1 Like

Hey @wzbfyb

I’d also think, that going with the MainUI is the more future-proof way - which will offer you a modern UI with, at least, a equivalent degree of customization (which will develop even further).

The variety of already available widgets for the MainUI, that came up in it’s short existence, makes me feel confident that we’ll reach the same or an even larger widget-database as HABPanel offers right now. (especially with things like the widget-marketplace, which is already in discussion).

And it feels to me, that the MainUI is a more integrated soloution than HABPanel is.
Especially for tablets (where the current flex-layout of the MainUI might have some weaknesses) there are also discussions right now, which would enhance the “flexibility” for these devices even more → Add a HABPanel like layouting page (WIP) by hubsif · Pull Request #835 · openhab/openhab-webui · GitHub

1 Like

I use the floorplans as my default view and I really like it.

1 Like

I’m too deep in HabPanel right now to switch. I will wait to see how MainUI unfolds before I spend the time to change. As it stands right now I like habpanel visually. Tho I’m curious to see how it develops and widgets get made.

Since a few months I have switched from openhab 2.5x to 3.xx.