Full Migration from VeraPlus to openHab

I’ve been using Vera controllers for about 4 years now. I started with a VeraEdge, then moved to a VeraPlus (V+).

To begin, I have approximately 70 physical Z-wave devices enrolled on my V+, 12 virtual devices, and 20 scenes (automation rules). I’m very frustrated with the number of bugs in the V+ – bugs that have been around for a long time and never fixed. Some of the bugs are blamed on the manufacturers’ devices, yet other z-wave controllers have no problems with them. Now that Ezlo has purchased Vera, development has slowed down. This is largely due to the fact they are creating a new “Ezlo Plus” controller. It looks as though it has the same OS/UI as the V+ and is going to be more dependent on web integration.

I don’t like the other commercially developed controllers that are on the market. I’m a techie (software architect), understand z-wave pretty well, and will never use a controller that depends on the internet (i.e. SmartThings) for full, functional use.

So, here are my questions. Based on the number of devices I have:

• Do you think openHAB is good option for me – especially in regards to performance?
  • If so, what do you think is the best hardware platform to run it on?
  • Is there an easier way to migrate all of the devices from my Vera controller to an openHAB controller without having to un-pair from the Vera and re-pair to the openHAB?
  • What is the best option for the Z-wave Tranceiver (i.e. UZB, Z-stick, etc)?

I appreciate your opinions and experience regarding this topic and hope that openHAB is a better option than what I currently have.

Thanks-in-advance.

Shouldn’t be a problem.