Goodbye to Eclipse IDE?

Just want to share this article: http://pureconcepture.blogspot.com/2017/07/goodbye-to-eclipse-end-of-era-for.html

It’s from 2017 and nowadays even more true. Time to switch our main IDE I guess.

Cheers, David

3 Likes

I’m no developer, but maybe it would be better first to complete the existing issues (remerge of eclipse, move to bnd) before adding a mass of other issues. :wink:

3 Likes

I completely agree with Udo. Sadly issues like this are a “don’t care” to the average user and we are already having the impression that something is wrong with the lack of forward progress to the code. I wouldn’t take something like this on until we get back into the release rhythm again. And then try to do so in a way that doesn’t interrupt that release rhythm.

To play devil’s advocate, you can pick any software, technology, and development process and find an almost identical blog posting. I’m not saying that the recommendation to abandon Eclipse is a bad one, but one it two blog posts is not IMHO enough evidence to do so.

Personally, I’ve not been out of development professionally long enough to not have an opinion at all. I’m old enough to remember the vi vs. emacs wars (I was on the emacs side though now find myself defaulting to vim for everything). Developers are passionate about their tools. If OH could be relatively IDE agnostic, maybe defaulting the docs to only one or two and letting the community generate tutorials for setting up the rest, it would be the best if all world’s.

5 Likes

The quoted article is from 2017 and was written at a time when Eclipse core and IDE development was really having problems and some companies were turning away. There was a movement from Eclipse largely to IntelliJ (for Java development) and Visual Studio Code (for other languages like Go).