Group Definition types/functions in .items

HI There,

I have a question around groups in items. Yes, I am a total newbie.

I have created a few easy groups from exapmples like:
Group:Switch:OR(ON,OFF) gGuestBedroomLights “Guest Bedroom Lights”

And they work well. But I want to get/set a color for a bunch of LIFX mini colour lights.

But how does I create a group for a color? I would assume that the colorpicker is a range.
Group:color:<What function? Min Max?> gGuestBedroomColourPicker “Guest Bedroom Lights Colour”

I read the docs and it wasnt very clear other than a few items, but not what I was after.

Any suggestions, would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Andy

You don’t need to set a function. This is the part, how openHAB does build the state of the group item.

There are many usecases for Groups:

Grouping Items for:

1. sorting (especially in VSCode)
  2. sitemaps (Group Widget)
  3. trigger (Rules)
  4. charts
  5. summarize

When grouping for the 5th point, you have some options, what and how to summarize. For example it would be nice to have the average temperature for the house. Just build a Group:number:AVG Temperature (i.e. summarize all items and divide it by the count of items) and put all Measurement items in this group. Or you have some lights, you want to know how many lights are ON, so group it: Group:Switch:OR(ON,OFF) lights (i.e. Count all lights which are ON)
In question of color, I see no meaningful sum, so just don’t use a sum:
Group:color myColorGroup.
Of course, the Group will not have a meaningful state.

1 Like

Hi Udo,

So if I did this in default.items
//Define Group
Group:colour gLoungeLightsColour “Lounge Colour”
//Define Items
Color Color_Lounge_Light2 “Lounge Light2 Color” (gLoungeLightsColour){ channel=“lifx:colorlight:LoungeLight2:color” }
Color Color_Lounge_Light1 “Lounge Light1 Color” (gLoungeLightsColour){ channel=“lifx:colorlight:LoungeLight1:color” }

It should work in my default.sitemap with: