Habmin2 UI Questions/Suggestions

Now that I’m able to use Habmin and the new Zwave plugin (and create items from there) I came across a few things that I felt could be a bit better and have a few questions as well. Some of these may be on deck already so I didn’t want to just go and create a bunch of issues on Github. It should also give a “new user” perspective, as I’m pretty new at OpenHAB (but I’m a web dev so I do have a technical background).

Thing configuration

1. Show the node # somewhere other than just the label. I went and relabelled mine because I have a lot of the same device and it’s hard to keep track. However, then I lost the Node #, and there’s nowhere to really pull that info up from the UI.
  2. Simple way to “test” channels. I.e. When I was setting up my dimmers/switches/outlets, it would’ve been super handy to be able to quick test a command from the interface so I can see which one I’m working with (i.e. “is node 8 the sink switch or living room…”). Otherwise I had to create the item/channel link, reload my sitemap, and test.
  3. A bit more info on the channels. I.e. for the Astro binding, all I see is a set of “start time”, “end time”, “duration” channels, but no easy way of knowing if they’re sun rise, sun set, etc.

Items

1. Ability to add groups?
  2. Ability to add “pseudo” items (i.e. for Dimmer things, you can also associate a Switch item that uses the BASIC command…much easier than using a slider to turn it on/off)

Rules

1. I kept getting an error when trying to create a rule. (something about missing root block)
  2. Is the purpose of “source” to be able to just directly code the rule/when/then blocks? (If not, that would be super handy)…I tried using it but ran into the same issue as #1

@chris hopefully those are helpful/constructive.