Hardware Recommandations

Hello,

I am pretty new to OH. It is a very interesting framework and I try to learn step by step.
Until now I installed openHabian on an raspberry 3 and integrated my MAX! heating controllers. With this I already learned to define items, rules and sitemaps.

My next steps to develop my system are:

• Integrating my existing room lights (they are switched by relays inside the the electric installation case)
  • Buying 230V RGB LED
  • Integrating my self made LED Lights (with PWM controllers)
  • maybe later integrating some other custom devices (like my LED lights)
  • maybe later I buy some electric roller shutters and want to integrate them
  • sensing some physical values like light intensity, humidity, …

It is smart to think about the requirements before buying something. There are several systems on the market to fulfill some of my requirements. But there is nothing available that can fulfill all requirements.
As far as I see there are two main systems: Homematic and Z-Wave. I am struggling which system I choose to start with.

Homematic

• No PWM controllers available
  • No easy Customizeable actors/sensors
  • Would require Hue or Lightify for 230V RGB LED lighting

Z-Wave

• OH binding existent
  • 230V RGB LEDs available
  • No DIN rail devices
  • No PWM controllers available
  • No easy Customizeable actors/sensors

At the moment I tend to Homematic because of the DIN rail devices. The benefit of Z-Wave is that there are 230V LED light blubls available. Otherwise I would need an additional system like Hue (expensive) or Lightify (not OH binding existent).

Also there is no system where I have some PWM controllers that I can use for my self made LED lights. I think about using a Zigbee based system where I can build my own PWM devices. This would also opens the options for later custom improvements.