Has anyone used OpenHAB with Lorawan?

Hi Forum,

As I read and learn more about IOT and home automation, I’m trying to determine the best IOT transport method to use to capture and collect my data. z-wave definitely has the options when it comes to the sensors and other devices that I can connect to each other. But Lorawan devices and sensors has the distance! For my use case to monitor our boats in the boathouse I’m wondering if Lorawan would be a better choice for the sensors and gateway hub I use. I’d like to explore all options so I’ve been searching on how to use OpenHAB with Lorawan. I see that Lorawan can connect to a cloud server called the Things Network. I’d rather host my own and use OpenHAB.

Has anyone setup or have experience with using OpenHAB with a Lorawan network of devices? Am I able to do this with OpenHAB or is this just not possible?

Thank you.

2 Likes

Hello

I am no expert compared to many on here, and I do not use LoRa devices (I do use some devices called Moteino, that work on more traditional radio frequencies). If I was starting again (!) I would definitely look at LoRa as even in my relatively small house, I suffer from weak signals and of course battery problems.

I use Zwave for lights and power switching, this has a binding which is very easy to configure given the hugh variety of Zwave devices available. But I found them pricey, so I use Moteinos as well. You mention monitoring - this is what I tend to use Moteinos for - presence, temperature etc. Zwave is more robust and well equipped for controlling electrictal devices etc

I don’t know that there is an out-of-the-box for LoRa and Openhab in terms of a binding. The same is true of Moteinos - no “binding”.
Therefore, many people use a generic transport such as MQTT to pass data to/from OpenHAB. This is slightly trickier to set up than a binding, but only a little, and its a well documented approach.

For example: