Homematic Binding: not all devices read from CCU

Hello,

my name is Rayk. I am a software developer and have been involved in home automation for 15 years now.
Since I lack the time to keep my self-developed home automation system up to date, I am currently looking at openHAB 3.2.
I mainly use devices of the Homematic system. Currently I have the following problems using the Homematic binding.

I have a CCU2 with about 70 Homematic and Homematic IP devices in use.
After configuring, a few devices are missing from the ‘INBOX’. Even with a rescan the devices are not found.
When debugging the binding I found that the devices are present in the device list sent from the CCU to the binding.
For all devices the binding reads the device description from the CCU individually. The whole process obviously takes so long that the reading of the device description is aborted. So I changed the parameter ‘Install Mode Duration’ in the binding configuration from 60s (default) to 120s. After that all devices are found during a new scan. In my opinion the parameter should only be used for teaching the devices to the CCU, but not for reading the devices from the CCU into openHAB.

The second (bigger problem) for which I can’t find a solution is the following:
After restarting openHAB, the Things (Homematic devices), which could only be created by setting the ‘Install Mode Duration’ parameter high, show the error “CONFIG: ERROR” (Device with address ‘ABC’ not found on gateway ‘xyz’) and show no reaction in openHAB.
After a new, manually triggered scan, the Things are ready for use again.

What can I do to work around this bug? Running a manual scan after every reboot is absolutely not an option.

Greetings,
Rayk

1 Like

I have the same problem since last week. Increasing the discover time helped me at first.
Now some devices are missing on every restart of openHAB!