Homematic IP + BidCoS on RPi: Which software to use?

Hi,

I’m not a beginner, but I’m at the beginning of integrating Homematic IP into my existing setup.
I have currently running:
Homematic BidCos Devices
managed by Homegear
and controlled by OpenHAB 2
on a Raspberry Pi 3 with HM-MOD-RPI-PCB

Now I plan to add Homematic IP devices.
Can I just install Raspberrymatic alongside Homegear or replace it with it?
Or do I need another Pi, or a package like Debmatic?

I understood that my HM-MOD-RPI-PCB can stay as it supports HM IP aswell.
Other than that I have tried to find my answer in the internet already, but there are too many configurations and too many solutions, so I am confused now :smiley:

Thanks in advance!

I don’t know if Homegear can do HM IP, why don’t you ask over at the homegear forum ?
But I know I wouldn’t choose HM to extend my home installation when I can choose from all the devices that openHAB supports.

Sorry for hijacking this thread, but I am about switching to HMIP as well, so… @mstormi: Which protocol would you choose for thermostats if you need a fast response?

From my personal experience, there are no reliable Zigbee or Z-Wave (FLIRS) thermostats on the market. The most popular choice is Eurotronic who produce crappy firmware and provide no support. All other companies are proprietary as well.

Do you have a recommendation?

… you should open your own thread.

I’m using pivCCU on the same Raspberry Pi 3 as Openhab and I’m happy with it. I did not yet test it with Homematic IP, but Homematic only. But it would support IP.

Thanks. That sounds promising.
If there’s somebody who can compare pivCCU with Raspberrymatic or Debmatic, I’d also be interested to hear their opinion.

@mstormi
I forgot to mention that I already found out that Homegear does not support HmIP.
Now you’ve made not only Tobi77, but also me curious: Why no Homematic and what’s your best bet for an alternative which has a broad pallette of device types?