Homematic IP item don't get updated

Hello,

I have several Homematic IP Items connected via Homematic CCU2 and openHAB 2 binding.
Everything worked well for several months

Now I have three of six devices that don’t get any updates from the CCU - or don’t react to updates any more.
E.g. a temperature sensor that’s flat for several days. Updates are propagated from the sensor to the CCU and visible in the WebGUI there. But the updates get lost from CCU to openHAB.
The other three are fine…

There is nothing in openhab.log (Really, not even mentioning anything from homematic for weeks)

Do you have an idea where to look? I’m about to install everything new, but really would like to know what’s going on to prevent that happen again.

Thanks for any hint

Frank

1 Like

I have no experience with HmIP stuff, but you could check the devices via the REST API. Are differences between the working and non-working sensors?

Hello Job,

thanks for the hint. I haven’t thought about it. But actually the info was the same as on the WebGUI e.g. BasicUI.

Meanwhile I’ve removed and added the Things again and it is working again.

But… still no ideas what when wrong.

I will install a rule that searches for items not updated for e.g. 24h and sent a warning.
Not nice, but my best guess here.

Thanks

Frank

Use the expire binding, add these items to a <group> and create a rule when Member of <group> changes to null. Let openHAB do the searching. :wink:

Thanks job,

I have never worked with expire binding. Interesting, but seems to be dangerous, right? I guess the possible sideeffects might be … challenging?

But how do you do a rule that gets an event when a member of a group have been updated?

I’ve searched for that and haven’t find it … possible a specific keyword?

Thanks for taking care… :wink:

Best regards

frank

Simple. :wink:

rule "check for undef"
when 
	Member of gMyGroup changed to UNDEF
then
    var String msg = String::format("*Offline* = %s\n", triggeringItem.name)