How can I automate: RFID, door lock, LCD and speaker?

I’m looking for advice on the best way to automate the scenario below. I’m new to openHAB and home automation but am a software engineer and am willing to write custom code if needed, but would obviously prefer to not reinvent the wheel! :grinning:

Desired Automation Scenario

Devices: Door with lock, RFID reader & chips (or similar device), LCD display, speaker.

1. User walks up to a locked door, and scans their RFID chip. (Ideally user has RFID chip simply within a small ~5 foot proximity, which automatically triggers the reader.)
  2. LCD display shows their picture (previously taken).
  3. Speaker plays a sound custom to them.
  4. Door unlocks.

User Management

• Be able to manage a list of users, each with their own set of configurations.
  • Each user has their own:
    – RFID chip
    – Picture
    – Sound clip (mp3, wav, etc)
    – Movie clip (mp4, youtube link, etc)
    – Role (team 1, team 2, etc)

Thoughts/Questions

1. Is there a user management solution available to openHAB that allows me to add custom attributes to every user (like role, picture, sound clip, etc)? Or would that require openHAB to make an external API call to a custom user management system that I’d build out?
    – If an external API is the recommended approach for this level of custom user management, then is there any openHAB API best practices to follow here?
  2. Most other automation scenarios I’d like to perform revolve around knowing who the person is who triggered the action, and based on attributes in their profile, perform some sort of action.
  3. Can you recommend any existing plugin or physical devices that would best fit my needs?

subscribing to this thread :slight_smile:

I don’t have the answers that you are looking for but I am interested in this scenario (for the door lock device choice but also for the entire concept).