How do I add my things?

Hi guys,

I am in the midst of setting up my own openHAB System but I am really uncertain of how add my things to the system. As a heads up: I am very new to openHAB and fairly new to the linux landscape in general. So I don’t have a great understanding of the different mechanics of the whole system yet.

To illustrate where I am right now some keypoints:

Hardware I own: Raspberry Pi 4 Model B; CC2531 zigbee2mqtt stick; OSRAM Smart+ Plug; OSRAM Smart+ Flex 3P Multicolor; Philips Hue Dimmer Switch

As for the software, I basically followed the tutorial for beginners (had to remove the link sincy I can only have two in one post) and at this point, everything seems to be installed correctly, although I could be wrong about that.

Now, I would like to start with adding the dimmer to the system following this guide. As I dont use Home Assistant but openHAB, i have to do the manual integration right? If so, it doesn’t say where exactly to put the configuration. Should I put it in the broker.things file? If so, where should I insert it? The syntax looks very different from the syntax in the mentioned tutorial for beginners.

And is this at all what I have to do, or is there some kind of button in - say - the Paper UI that I can use instead?

[As a side question: The OSRAM Smart+ Flex 3P Multicolor is not in the list of devices supported by zigbee2mqtt. Other OSRAM Lightstrips are though. Do you think, I can still use it?]

This guy seemed to be at a similar point, and based on that thread I have changed my things file, my items file and my sitemap trying to add my Hue Dimmer.

dimmer.things:

Bridge mqtt:topic:mosquitto [ host=“localhost” secure=false ]
{
Thing topic Bedroom_Light @ “Bedroom” {
Channels:
Type switch : power “Power” [ stateTopic=“zigbee/0x001788010670863e”, transformationPattern=“JSONPATH:$.state”,
commandTopic=“zigbee/0x001788010670863e/set”, on=“ON”, off=“OFF” ]