How do I mount a raspberry samba share on a Linux mint desktop?

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: raspberry pi 3+ and Linux mint desktop
    • Java Runtime Environment:
    • openHAB version: 3.2
      How do I mount a samba share from my raspberry pi open habían system to my Linux box? The docs give the command for windows and Macs but not linux. I’m not a native Unix speaker but I have some experience. When I tried to mount it I got a mount with a .kar extension that my linux box insisted was an audio file. I’ve never used samba. This should be a one line command and a similar one line to add to my fstab file.
      I can see the openHab shares by running
      smbclient -L OPENHABIAN.local
      I just can’t figure out how to mount it on my desktop so it’s useful
      Eddie

There is a step by description at https://techviewleo.com/install-and-configure-samba-file-sharing-on-linux-mint/ ( step 4 describes the part on the client side ).

Looks like there are multiple defintions for .kar files.
One seems to be Karaoke MIDI file ( which your system thinks it is ) an other one is KAR .
That mounted directory contains a file with a .kar extension ? Files with that extension contain e.g. the OH application.

You can & should use NFS to mount the share but this is off scope of this forum so please g**gle for that.

Ok. Thanks, that looks similar to what I tried but I’ll try that again in a little while referencing this doc.

@mstormi About all I know is that NFS is different from the windows FS and, I assume since you said that, it is different from samba. I assumed that since the samba shares were pre-setup on the openhabian install that that was the way to go. Briefly, what does NFS buy me that samba doesn’t?