How do I trigger rules from an Aeon Labs zwave Minimote with OH 2.0?

Hello there! I’m relatively new to OH, but have been having reasonable results so far, but I’ve run into a thing I can’t figure out how to get past.

I’m starting a new thread because so many of the old ones seem to be using older versions of Openhab, and I’ve had a hard time trying to tell which applies sometimes.

I’m trying to get an Aeon Labs Minimote to work properly with OH 2.0. So far, I get stuff in the zwave log, but I can’t make it actually trigger a rule.

There’s a useful Aeon Minimote Configuration OH 1.8.2? thread that describes a bunch of the complexities of getting the Minimote to bind properly. There’s goofy timing issues, and you have to change setting 250 to Scene Mode, which can be tricky.

I believe I have all that sorted out. I see the mode as Scene, and pushing the scene buttons gets me items in the zwave log like this:

11:12:32.588 [DEBUG] [ssage.ApplicationCommandMessageClass] - NODE 8: Application Command Request (ALIVE:DONE)
11:12:32.590 [DEBUG] [alization.ZWaveNodeInitStageAdvancer] - NODE 8: Starting initialisation from DONE
11:12:32.592 [DEBUG] [ve.internal.protocol.ZWaveController] - Event Listener org.openhab.binding.zwave.internal.protocol.initialization.ZWaveNodeInitStageAdvancer@c1ef7e already registered
11:12:32.599 [DEBUG] [ssage.ApplicationCommandMessageClass] - NODE 8: Incoming command class SCENE_ACTIVATION
11:12:32.601 [DEBUG] [.commandclass.ZWaveBasicCommandClass] - Received Scene Activation for Node ID = 8
11:12:32.603 [DEBUG] [.commandclass.ZWaveBasicCommandClass] - Scene Activation Set
11:12:32.605 [DEBUG] [.commandclass.ZWaveBasicCommandClass] - Scene activation node from node 8: Scene 3, Time 0
11:12:32.606 [DEBUG] [ve.internal.protocol.ZWaveController] - Notifying event listeners: ZWaveCommandClassValueEvent

I have a Thing defined as:

Number LivingRoomRemoteSceneChannel "Channel [%d]" <switch> { channel="zwave:device:7cbe1896:node8:scene_number" }