How does HM-CC-RT-DN and HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU work together

Dear community,

I’m new to home automation and was thinking to start the new project with a simple heating solution to optimize and controll our heating in a central way.

Therefore I bought a PI with a HM-MOD-RPI-PCB and the two homematic components HM-CC-RT-DN and HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU. The PI is running Openhabian with Openhab2.2. All devices are are availbale and I can see the different channels in the Paper UI.

The goal is to NOT use the thermostat of the HM-CC-RT-DN but of the HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU which is placed in a different corner oft he room than the HM-CC-RT-DN As soon as the HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU target temperature is reached the HM-CC-RT-DN should close the valve (stop heating). If the HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU target temperature drops below the actual temperature the HM-CC-RT-DN should open the valve and start heating again till the HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU target temperature is reached.

I read a lot through serveral posts (especially the Heating Boilerplate by Thomas Dietrich) but it’s still not clear to me how the two items work together since both of them measure the temperature.

If using the HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU to controll the HM-CC-RT-DN will the temperature sensor of the HM-CC-RT-DN be disabled or stop working - does that have to be configured somewhere?

Do I have to send the HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU actual temperature in intervalls to the HM-CC-RT-DN to overwrite the HM-CC-RT-DN actual temperature to trick out the HM-CC-RT-DN temperature sensor?

Or do you open the the valve of the HM-CC-RT-DN till the HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU target temperature has been reached.

Maybe somebody is has a similar setup and can share his OpenHab configuration for this scenario.

Kind regards

willi

You should setup direct links between the devices. These device can and should be used independent of openhab. I have 10 wall and 15 radiator thermostats running and everything works without openhab. Openhab just adds another layer of comfort.